The Times Higher has produced yet another league table in it’s quest to be the dominant world authority on all things ranking. Not that I’m complaining, I love lists.

It’s not entirely surprising, but I’m delighted by the honourable mention for Barcelona. I did some work with the the Catalan University Quality Assurance Agency (AQU Catalunya ) and some of their member universities a few years ago and I must say I found the students the most engaging and engaged I have ever met and the intellectual environment very stimulating, add this to the sights around Barcelona and what’s not to like.

So how does the list look:
1 – London (a stonking 9 Universities in the THE top 400)
2 – Boston (7, but they include the “surrounding area” here)
3 – Hong Kong (6)
4 – Paris (6)
5 – New York City (5)
6 – Seoul (5)
7 – Tokyo (4)
8 – Melbourne (4)
9 – Sydney (4)
10 – Barcelona (3)
11 – Chicago (3)
12 – Washington DC (3)
13 – Stockholm (3)
14 – Beijing (3)
15 – Milan (3)
16 – Istanbull (3)
17 – Philadelphia (3)
18 – Vienna (3)

By my count that’s,
Europe – 7 cities
North America – 5
Asia – 4
Australasia – 2

BUT, Exeter and Kingston upon Hull are not included, so I have to say this league table is looking slightly off to me 😉

Leave a Reply

